Sober Holidays

I’m so thankful to have been able to continue my sobriety without urges.  Wolfie  has not stopped by this house in six months – but I’m always on guard if he does.  My daughter and son-in-law drove up from Atlanta, and my 90 year-old mom joined us at the dinner table. Mom and I had sparkling grape juice and hubby and kids enjoyed some nice wine.  Not a problem.  Later that evening, my daughter and I took mom back to her apartment and once alone, we had a nice talk.  She wanted to know why I had quit.  Was there a health issue?  Was there a terrible incident (car accident, dui)?  I had told her that I would explain when we were together.  Well, now we were together.  Sitting in the driveway, car running, I told my 30 year-old daughter that I am an alcoholic.   I told her the whole story, the decision…the blogs…AA meetings…  She hugged me and told me she loves me and how proud she is.  Then she began to talk about her own drinking.  Not concerned yet – but watching.  It felt so good to have that conversation.  Hugs to all of you!

2 thoughts on “Sober Holidays

  1. I had a similar experience with my 19 year old daughter on Thanksgiving eve! It felt SO good to speak openly and honestly about it with her. I’m happy for you and me that we had that connection with our daughters! Priceless! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

