Spring Break

Hi all,

I’ve been absent from writing for awhile.  But today is the first day of my Spring Break vacation (I work in a school).  I have no plans to travel, my husband is working this week, so my “vacation” will be to wake up each morning and do whatever I feel like doing.  I have a list somewhere of all kinds of fun things to do.  I can’t seem to locate it right now, but I could certainly write another.  It most likely will list all of the things I’ve been meaning to do since I quit drinking.  You see, I have a lot of time on my hands and I can accomplish so much.  But I’m not.  I can finish that scarf I starting knitting months ago.  But I’m not.  I could finish the painting that would bring out that hidden artsy talent.  But I’m not.  I could take up running.  But I don’t.  Get the picture?

I’ve decided not to renew my employment contract for next year.  I’ve decided to retire (turning 61 this summer).  I’ve worked since I was 16, so I think it’s time.  My husband asks what I’ll do, so I revert back to my list.  I figure this week will be a nice trial run to see if I’ll like retirement.  So I awoke this morning (Monday) and ironed hubby’s shirts, cleaned the toilet, took out the garbage…looked for the list.  

Hmmm.  This isn’t as much fun as I’d hoped.  Well, the day is still young, the sun is out, and hubby is coming home for lunch.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Spring Break

  1. I know exactly where you’re coming from. I’m the same. My house is still a mess, I still loll around – start a job, get fed up, give up. At the weekends I promise I’ll do something interesting with the kids, but we don’t – we stay home. I wonder whether it’s just habit? We’re so used to not being able to do anything because of the hangover, or we’re not motivated because of the depressing nature of alcohol. I find that once I force myself to get up and do something, I enjoy it. It’s the actual getting started bit that’s difficult.

  2. My sentiments exactly. I’m determined that once the weather breaks,if ever, I will get up off my ass and do all the things I’ve wanted to do since I got sober, besides drinking tea and eating chocolate.
    Sharon

  3. How long have you been sober? I think this may play a role in terms of motivation. Staying sober in the beginning takes up a lot of space in our brain. So maybe we don’t have the energy or focus to do anything else just yet. For example: I put in a load of laundry yesterday morning (I had to, I had no clothes left to wear because I hadn’t done laundry in weeks). Well, it’s still in the dryer and the only reason it’s there is because my husband flipped it for me (from the washer). Lack of motivation on my part, left over from drunk days of not getting anything done. It’ll change. Give it time, and good luck!

  4. Pingback: WHY? What is your WHY? What motivates you to keep doing what you do?

Leave a Reply

