300 Days of Changing Course

I have been sober for 300 days. Nearly one year. Unimaginable to the old me. Didn’t think I could go one day without my glass (or 4) of wine. But once I got going. Once I set the date and prepped myself with the words of the sober bloggers…it just happened. I can’t say I had any hard days. In fact, just weeks after quitting, I took a sober trip to Italy. With my travel companions commenting on the wine that flowed from noon to bedtime, I was so happy to enjoy my Pellegrino and the view. Not sure what clicked this time, but it must have been something YOU said/wrote. The month of June seems to be my magic month. I was married in June 35 years ago. I quit smoking in June 31 years ago, and I quit drinking in June (will be one year ago). Gotta love the month of June.

Many changes happened this past 300 days. I quit poisoning myself with alcohol; I turned 60 years old; I took a sober vacation to Italy; our youngest daughter was married; our sweet fourteen year-old lab went to heaven; I’ve retired from work; I’ve retired from work; oh… and did I mention, I’ve retired from work!

I am building a list in my head of all the things I want to do with my life now. None of which would have been possible had I been drinking. First of all, I’m sure my drinking would have escalated had I been retired and home all day. I would have found more hiding places for bottles. I would have found new liquor stores to rotate into my weekly shopping trips. I probably would have needed to take on a part-time job to pay for the extra bottles/boxes of wine. It would have been ugly, dangerous, and life-threatening.

So, sober-retired is much more exhilerating. My list is growing. Volunteering is top of the list. Giving more of my healthy self to others is necessary. Keeping myself healthy and fit is a close second. And then all the little silly things like reading, gardening, playing piano, knitting, etc.

I love reading the blogs of many of my sober cyber friends reaching 300+ days. Many one year anniversaries are celebrated. I’m noticing new “faces” joining in. Belle’s blog is wonderfully active and it’s fun to see her new offerings. Soberistas.com is going gang busters with new design (I’m in their book club). But they are getting so big that they are going to a subscription only platform. Not sure how that will affect participation.

I love seeing how this sober-explosion is growing throughout the world. Seems like some major power is lurking here. Are we at the helm of the new “sober is the new cool” campaign? Sure feels like something big is bubbling.

Hugs to all of you who are struggling and high fives to those who are helping them along.

Trish

8 thoughts on “300 Days of Changing Course

  1. Well done for 300 days. I can’t wait to read about you reaching your first year milestone. That will be fantastic. Like you, I feel as though something huge is happening. For the first time in my life I feel as though I belong to a super-cool ‘trendy’ club and it’s an amazing place to be. I think it’s going to be huge!

  2. Congrats on 300 days! That’s so great šŸ™‚ And yes, I think you’re right. There is a sober trend happening. It’s great that more people are taking care of themselves and I’m happy you and I and loads of others are making sober stylish.

  3. Congrats! You are an inspiration as this is only day 2 for me. I am doing it as a 60th birthday present to myself and you have given me so much to look forward to. Actually, I had no idea that so many people were getting sober until I started searching online for people who were perhaps experiencing the same feelings as me. I feel pretty good about my decision and I will take it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

