Now What?

Yesterday was my last day of work…forever. Meaning, my last day of employment work. I retired yesterday after 45 years of employment to someone else. I retired from other people’s expectations, timelines, and evaluations. I’ve retired from sitting, standing, driving, eating, and vacationing on someone else’s schedule. Not that I didn’t enjoy my work….

So I sit here this morning, on my first day of retirement, doing some housecleaning – not the closets yet, but in my head. I want to be intentional here. I’m the boss of me now. I make the scheduling decisions now. I decide when to start my day and when to finish – when to eat lunch and when to sit, stand, or dance.

Up until this morning, I had a bucket list in my head of all the wonderful things I would do in retirement. This morning I don’t remember any of them. I’m in awe of my freedom to make choices. My mind is blank.

I’ve accomplished two things this morning. I’ve changed my password, and I made a haircut appointment for the middle of the day tomorrow.

baby steps…

11 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. Congratulations on your one year milestone last month, and your retirement! I stumbled upon your blog and have so enjoyed reading all of your posts. My journey seems very similar to yours, although I have had quite a yo-yo time of alternating abstinence/drinking. Now on Day 18 and so glad to have found your blog!

  2. Yay for your new life 🙂 I love that you’re being intentional about it. I think that’s really rare. And now that you’re own boss, remember to be flexible and allow for lots of breaks and unstructured time. You deserve it!

  3. Congrats, how exciting! I know this post is a little old, but still deserves a congrats. I’ve been browsing the blogs on word press, mostly the ones that have to do with alcohol, co-dependency and so forth.

    Anyway,
    Congrats to you,

Leave a Reply

