A New Intention

Good morning all. It has been awhile since I’ve posted. I’ve been reading blogs, but staying silent. I’m just getting used to this retirement schedule – meaning…no schedule. It feels sort of like I’m self-employed and working from home. I never thought I could work from home. Pictured myself in my pj’s all day without the ability to focus. Retirement is similar right now. I’m trying to determine a schedule. Here is what I have so far:

1. Wake around 6:30
2. Take a current novel to my reading chair with coffee (approx. 1 hour)
3. Fire up the computer and read email, blogs, and tweets (second cup of java)
4. Catch up on the news from my fav news blog “The Skimm”
5. Outside for a walk or bike ride
6. Shower/makeup (in case I pass someone in public today)
7. Plan a fabulous dinner for hubby (hasn’t really been fabulous yet)
8. Outside to pull some weeds and feed the birds
9. Clean something in the house
10. One hour of piano practice
11. Fill in the blank till hubby comes home

So there it is – so far. Do you see what’s missing? Yeah, me too. No human interaction. No other live humans are involved in any of those activities.

I’ve never felt uncomfortable with solitude. I played well with myself as a kid and my recent job had me working in solitude most of the time. We’ve moved to six states during our marriage, so friends and acquaintances have come and gone easily.

So, here is #12. I may need to place it somewhere in the middle of the day. It may be a lunch meeting, an invitation for coffee with a neighbor, or a volunteer opportunity.

12. Be intentional to develop relationships with others.

Is it strange to list such an obvious activity on a daily to-do list?

5 thoughts on “A New Intention

  1. I was happy to find your blog thru Sharon. I am almost 62, retired with a retired husband. We are drinking more than ever with all this free time. I am sick of it, sick of my life and desperately want to make changes. I read your complete blog and found it very inspiring.

  2. I totally know where you are coming from Karen. I’m glad I quit before retiring because I know I would be pouring my first glass right now (at 3 pm). I’d be “done” by dinner time! Hope you can find some inspiration and guidance from all of the sober blogs – they sure helped Sharon and me! Hugs!

  3. Hi there! Just a thought I had- My mom retired a couple of years ago and also found her social interaction wanting, so she joined a hiking group… I’m not sure what you’re interests are but there seems to be a lot of groups on this site- meetup.com.
    Best wishes!

  4. I’m the same…I was reading that list and thinking – wow, that sounds really cool 🙂 It wasn’t until you mentioned others that I thought – oh yeah! I too enjoy solitiude. I am comfortable in my own company. It’s other people’s company that I
    sometimes struggle with. But I know that when I do have contact with others, I do feel a small recharge after a long bout of alone time.

    Thanks for sharing – glad you posted and are doing well. 🙂

    Paul

Leave a Reply

