Time…Precious Time

It’s true what they say. Our days are filled during retirement – more than our working days. My days are filled with adventures, hobbies, friends, and books. Things I could have done while I was working, but instead chose to sit on the couch in front of the tv with a (or three) glass of wine. Now I seldom notice the difference in time between 2 o’clock and 6 o’clock. The entire day is mine for the taking. It’s a wonderful thing that I have earned after 45 years in the workplace. But it wouldn’t be this glorious had I still been drinking.

Yesterday my eldest daughter, a single mom living 12 hours away, called with hysteria in her voice to tell us about her flooded basement. “What do I do??” she exclaimed. I felt this tug in my gut to pack my bags and get in the car to drive to her rescue. I can do that now, without worry about an employer’s schedule. Her dad calmly walked her through the procedure to check the sump pump and she was able to pull herself together. Crisis avoided. I put my suitcase away. But it was a good feeling to know I could rescue her if necessary.

I’ve had hair appointments, dental cleanings, and the cable guy all in the middle of the day. Lovely.

I’m convinced that I would not be enjoying this half as much if I were drinking. I’m sure that bottle would be calling me around 2 pm instead of 5. I would be unable to make any decisions, let alone jumping in the car to rescue my daughter. I would be hiding the wineglass when the cable guy showed up at 3:30. The stress of managing to buy wine on my limited retirement budget would take the fun out of party. There would be no adventures, friends, or books. Just a longer period of time in front of the TV.

I thank God for Time…Precious Time Without Alcohol in my life.

One thought on “Time…Precious Time

Leave a Reply

