I Found All The Happy Sober Women…and Gents!

Ahhh…the relief! I found them. I walked into the room and they were all milling about, hugging, smiling, laughing. A whole room full of them. Men, women, young, old, stylish, messed up, tall, and short. All smiling. The meeting started and the moderator asked if there were any new visitors to the group that would like to say hello. I raised my hand and said, “Hello!” They all laughed (about 50 people laughed!) I continued to introduce myself and mentioned that I had been looking for a group with happy sober people…I think I found it. They all laughed again and welcomed me. I was surrounded at the end of the meeting with smiles and welcomes. Goodbye cranky sober groups.

One thing that really stood out to me during that meeting. I looked around the room and found a great many people holding on to well-worn, dog-eared copies of the big book, daily devotionals, and other sober-related materials. These are hard-core AA members who take the 12 steps seriously. All conversations were related to their continued study and hard work to stay sober (no mother-in-law or ex-husband bashing as I am used to hearing). They talked a lot about their spiritual journey – no matter they personal faith. I felt a bit like a transfer student from another high school that needed to catch up.

So, I’m catching up. I’m breaking the binding on my brand new big book so I can be part of the conversation too.

Hugs to you all!

Trish

14 thoughts on “I Found All The Happy Sober Women…and Gents!

  1. Trish, that seriously just MADE MY DAY 🙂

    Thank you so much for posting this, I am heading out to have lunch with my sponsor, and I can’t wait to share this with her, and make her day.

    Can’t wait to read what happens when you crack the binding…

  2. So glad to here you found a group that suits you. Enjoy the book. I still haven’t gone down that path but I think I probably will. I’m still a little apprehensive about “coming out” to the whole community. Good for you, Trish!

  3. That sounds amazing. Congratulations on finding the right group for you. Like nomorewine4me I still haven’t gone down that route ….. yet. Too scared of being seen. I know it’s ridiculous and I’ll get there one day.

      • That is what I keep telling myself. I feel as though I’m doing ok at the moment. Only the very occasional urge – like the first day of my holiday. As soon as I feel as though I need a little more support I’ll look into it again.

  4. That’s very cool, Trish. I had to find a new group several years ago and it saved my relationship with AA, as well as my journey in sobriety. I’m a very relational person and it was destroying me on the inside when my home group was dominated by people who seemed to be so arrogant, despite their self-proclaimed decades in sobriety. All the best to you in your new “home.'”

  5. Way to go. Mine are taped at this point and I couldn’t be prouder. Thanks for sharing your journey. You make a difference in my recovery and you sure make a difference when you step into the rooms. Good stuff Trish, really good stuff. Lots of love, Lisa

  6. Trish~ this is awesome~ I am so glad you found a good group~ i have learned in my short 12 step journey~ find your peeps~ they are out there! we don’t have to do this alone! hugs.

Leave a Reply

